We, at the Embassy are here to serve you! We are here to protect the interests of their people based in Indonesia, Malaysia, Timor Leste, Singapore and Thailand but we are also here to promote the political, economical, culture and scientifically relations between Mozambique and those countries.

New Government Member of Mozambique

Republic of Mozambique is a Republic and a multiparty democracy. It has an executive President as head of state and government, who is directly elected for a five-year term and serves a maximum of two terms. He or she appoints the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers.

The national legislature –(Assembleia da República de Moçambique)- is the 250-member unicameral Parliament, with members of which are elected every five years by direct universal suffrage.

There are 11 provinces headed by a president-appointed governor and indirectly elected local assemblies. Each province is subdivided into districts. The capital city of Mozambique is Maputo.

The 1990 constitution, which replaced the independence constitution, separated the powers of the executive, the legislature and the judiciary. It enshrined the principles of political pluralism and election by a secret ballot of a government based on majority rule. It avowed the right to live in a ‘balanced environment’ and established the framework for a liberal market economy and the private ownership of land. It also abolished the death penalty. A new constitution was adopted in 2004 and came into force in 2005. A Constitutional Council was established in 2005 to ensure strict observance of the new constitution including the electoral acts and also established the Council of State to advise the President on specific matters. The new constitution emphasizes that its interpretation should always be consistent with the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

The Supreme Court is the final appellate court, and it has original jurisdiction in the most serious criminal cases. As well as other judicial courts, there are the Administrative Court, the courts-martial, and customs, maritime and labour courts. Some Supreme Court judges are appointed by the President and others are elected by Parliament.

The last general elections (legislative and presidential) was held in 15 October 2019, and the next to be held in 2024.


The President of the Republic of Mozambique is the head of state and holds a constitutional mandate to embody national unity by looking after the national and international issues of the country, and oversees the correct functioning of state offices. The president is the head of government and also the commander-in-chief of the defense and security forces. A presidential term lasts for five years and can only be renewed once.

Prime Minister

The Prime Minister is appointed by the President and has the duty to assist and advise the President with the running of the government. The Prime Minister’s primary duty is to advise the President on the creation of ministries and to coordinate and control the activities of ministries and other government institutions. The Council of Ministers is chaired coordinated by the Prime Minister, who remains accountable to the President. The Prime Minister is also tasked with encouraging and supporting entrepreneurial activity and the exercise of private initiatives while protecting the interests of consumers and the general public.


(Ruling party: FRELIMO)

Key Figures :

Filipe Jacinto Nyusi – President of the Republic of Mozambique, since 15 January 2015 (the President is the head of the government)

Carlos Agostinho do Rosário – Primer-Minister of the Republic of Mozambique, since 17 January 2015

Members of Government :

Verónica Nataniel Macamo Dlhovo – Minister for Foreign Affairs and Cooperation

Adriano Afonso Maleiane – Minister of Economy and Finance

Jaime Bessa Neto – Minister of National Defense

Amade Miquidade – Minister of the Interior


Celso Ismael Correia – Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development

Ana Comoana – Minister of State Administration and Public Function

Margarida Adamugy Talapa – Minister of Labor, Employer and Social Security


Adelaide Anchia Amurane – Minister in the Presidency and Civil Home Affairs

Augusta de Fátima Charifo Maita – Minister of Sea, Inland Waters and Fishing

Ernesto Max Elias Tonela – Minister of Energy and Mineral Resources

Helena Mateus Kida – Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs and Religious

Armindo Daniel Tiago – Minister of Health

Nyeleti Brooke Mondlane – Minister of Gender, Children and Social Affairs

Carmelita Rita Namashulua – Minister of Education and Human Development

Carlos Alberto Fortes Mesquita – Minister of Industry and Trade

Janfar Abdulai – Minister of Transport and Communications

Ivete Maibase – Minister of Land, Environment and Rural Development

Daniel Daniel Nivagara – Minister of Science, Technology, Higher Education and Professional Technical

João Osvaldo Machatine – Minister of Public Works, Housing and Water Resources


Eldevina Materula – Minister of Culture and Tourism


Carlos Jorge Siliya – Minister of Fighters


Honorary Consulate

Honorary Consulate of the Republic of Mozambique Singapore

Address :
66 Tannery Lane #03-05 Sindo Building Singapore 347805
Telp:+65 67432756

Honorary Consulate of the Republic of Mozambique Bangkok

Address :
142/36 Sathon 12 (SOI SUKSA VIDHAYA) Bangrak, Bangkok 10500 Thailand
Telp:(66-2) 2681681
Fax: (66-2) 2681682

Honorary Consulate of the Republic of Mozambique Timor Leste

Address :
AV.Martires da Patria Dili, Timor - Leste
Telp: (670) 3322888
Fax: (670) 3322251

Honorary Consulate of the Republic of Mozambique Malaysia

Address :
7, Jalan Penyelenggara, UI/77, Taman Perindutrian Batu Tiga, 40150 Shah Alam, Selangor Darul Ehsan, Malaysia.
Telp:(+603) 55128228
Fax: (+603) 5512613
Email:dnk@mozambique-consulate.com or nelktt@gmail.com